↑ Return to Past Winners

Richard Taliaferro Award

At the February 2006 ACTEBA Executive Committee Meeting a proposal for implementation of a perpetual Sports Person of the Year award was passed.

The creation of this award was in recognition and honour of Richard Taliaferro, member of the ACTEBA Crackpots team. Richard was a consistently gracious sports person in his attitude toward his 8 ball team mates, associates and opponents alike. He was considered a true gentleman and will be sincerely missed by all who knew him.

The purpose of this award is to perpetually recognise and congratulate ACTEBA members for consistent displays of outstanding sportsmanship.

Award Selection Process

Within an appropriate time frame prior to the ACTEBA Presentation Night the Vice President (or other Core Executive Committee member) shall announce/publicise a request for nominations for the Award, the date nominations will close and the date voting will cease.

This information will be displayed on the official ACTEBA website.

During the nomination period, any current ACTEBA member (or if between seasons any member of the last completed season) may nominate any member that they believe to have consistently displayed outstanding sportsmanship over a period of at least the previous two full consecutive seasons. Note that previous winners are not eligible to be nominated – the intent of the award is that it be passed on to a new winner every year.

A nomination will count as one vote to the nominee.

Nominees will be listed on the ACTEBA website.

Any member may register one vote only for any one nominee by informing the ACTEBA webmaster.

The webmaster will keep all votes confidential and will inform only the coordinator (Vice President or other Core Executive) of the outcome once voting has ceased.

The nominee achieving the highest number of votes will be announced at Presentation Night, and will be presented with a memorial keepsake and a perpetual trophy (silver plate) engraved with their name and the relevant year of play.

The perpetual trophy is to be kept by the winner until its return is requested by the Vice President (or Core Executive) prior to the following Presentation night.


2006: Sid Scott
2007: Max Ryan
2008: Greg Murphy
2009: Tolly Auvaa
2010: Steve Phillips
2011: Alison Murphy
2012: Dean Welsh
2013: Matt Wilson
2014: Kathy Harmon
2015: Joseph Morrall
2016: Melissa Chapelli