Richard Taliaferro Award Nominations

Hello all,

Nominations are now open for the Richard Taliaferro Award for Sportsperson of the Year.

The purpose of this award is to perpetually recognise and congratulate ACTEBA members for consistent displays of outstanding sportsmanship.

Any current ACTEBA member (or any member of the last completed season) may nominate any member that they believe to have consistently displayed outstanding sportsmanship over a period of at least the previous two full consecutive seasons. Please note that previous winners are not eligible to be nominated – the intent of the award is that it be passed on to a new winner every year.
You may e-mail your nominations to me, Ann Moimoi, at VP@acteba.com.au. Nominations will close on Monday 22 January 2018. A nomination will count as one vote to the nominee.

The list of nominees will be posted on the ACTEBA website and Facebook page on Tuesday 23 January 2018. Any member may then register one vote only for any one nominee by informing Graham O’Connell, the ACTEBA Webmaster. (webadmin@acteba.com.au). Voting will remain open for approximately two weeks, until Monday 5 February 2018.

Graham will keep all votes confidential and will inform only myself (or another Core Executive) of the outcome once voting has ceased.

The nominee achieving the highest number of votes will be announced at Presentation Night on 24 February 2018, and will be presented with a memorial keepsake and a perpetual trophy (silver plate) engraved with their name and the relevant year of play. The perpetual trophy is kept by the winner until the next presentation.

Previous Awardees: Sid Scott; Max Ryan; Greg Murphy; Tolly Auva’a; Steve Phillips; Alison Murphy; Dean Welsh; Matt Wilson; Kathy Harmon; Paul Berger; Joseph Morrall; Melissa Chapelli

This is the only ACTEBA award that is decided by popular vote. So take your opportunity to nominate someone you know, or check out the nominees when they’re posted and vote for the person you think is most deserving of the Award.

Ann Moimoi