

ACT Eight Ball Association

Captains' Meeting – 3 May 2010

Minutes

Open:

The regular meeting of ACTEBA was called to order at 7:09pm on 3 May 2010 at the Serbian Club, Mawson, by Joseph Morrall.

Present:

See attached attendance sheet.

A. Apologies

Ted Mallowes (Vikings)
Margaret Auva'a (Islanders)
Jason Davis (Cougars)
Shane Whiting (Budgie Smugglers)
Scrol (Schroomptons)

B. Proxies

Vikings – Ian Stanley for Ted Mallowes Islanders – James Fa'ateete for Margaret Auva'a

C. Minutes

Minutes from April were held over until next meeting.

D. President

A Disputes and Disciplinary Committee meeting was held last week to consider a complaint by the Serious Fouls against the Pains for unsportsmanlike behaviour. The complaint was upheld and a formal warning was issued.

The deposit for accommodation in Adelaide for 2010 National Championships has been paid. All ladies have accepted the offers for the Ladies team: Singles spots will now be offered

E. Vice President

No report.

F. Secretary

No report.

G. Treasurer

No report.

H. Tournament Director

Ladies Top 4 and Final was played last Monday. Nicole Welsh defeated Theresa Whitten (7-1).

181 entrants have registered for Open Singles; draw will be out this weekend. There will be 18 groups in round 1 (8-9 players per group); top 4 will progress to round 2.

Matt P: May not be able to find enough venues with 3 tables, so it will be a long day for some groups

Some venues do not open until 11:00 or later; players should check the draw for start times

There is a 2 week break at the end of the Summer comp (before the finals) due to the Nationals, or we could start the season later.

Motion				
That the Winter Season start be moved to 14 July				
Proposed: Joseph Morall		Seconded: Warren Manglesdorf		
For: 28	Against: 0		Abstain: 0	
Motion Passed				

12 April 2010 2/4

I. Assistant Tournament Director

When a player does not have an address registered with the association, the State of Origin zone was allocated from their team's base.

Nominations for SoO Captains

Northern Potters:

Nomination: Kylie Power Seconded: Chris Jones

No other nominations.

Accepted unanimously.

Southernn Guns:

Nomination: Scrol & Cath Rollinson

Seconded: Joseph Morall

No other nominations.

Accepted unanimously.

Thanks to Chris for updating player details

Thanks to all captains for scoresheets and reporting scores.

Rolf: The SoO teams appear to be based on Winter comp addresses

<Discussion on elegibility & when addresses are taken>

Joseph and Matt will investigate previous minutes and propose By-Law changes if required

J. Junior Development Officer

Junior calendar has been changed due to Maram being used for trials; will be at Kaleen this week and every 2 weeks.

Need to start organising (December) 2011 Junior Nationals – will get committee together over the next couple of meetings.

K. Head Umpire

No report

12 April 2010 3/4

L. Head Coach

No report

K. Fundraising / Publicity

WIN News clip has been received; will post on web site.

Entertainment books are on sale - \$55 each. ACTEBA receives \$11 for each book sold.

Raising funds for 2011 Junior Nationals.

L. Webmaster

Updates to Hall of Fame will be posted soon

M. General Business

Joseph Morall: Considering the introduction of a "vague" team uniform for Wednesday night comp – for discussion at the next meeting.

Joseph Morall: Looking at meeting attendance and procedure – for discussion at the next meeting.

Close:

The meeting was closed at 7:55pm.

12 April 2010 4/4



ACT Eight Ball Association

Captains' Meeting – 12 April 2010

Attendance Sheet

Team	Name	
Division 1		
Embalmers	John Pagden	
Hammerheads		
Stickmen		
Matildas		
Warriors	Ian Stanley	
Cage Rattlers	Jamie Peterson	
Schroomptons		
Snipers	Nicole Welsh	
Division 2		
Scorpions	Rolfe Bandte	
Vikings	Trent Billington, Junior Development Officer	
Pidos		
Pirates	Matt Kendrick, Vice President / Webmaster	
Cougars		
Demons		
Dom's DV8s	Will Keogh	
Division 3		
Chisholm Tavern	Warren Manglesdorf?	
Rail Runners	Nick Bodrozic	
Katz	Cath Rollinson, Fund Raising Coordinator	
Filthy Wanderers	Chris Jones, Tournament Director	
Jets	John Buitendam	
Jagerbombers	Lee Love	
Crackpots	Theresa Skipper	
	Greg Murphy, Secretary / Head Umpire	

Division 4		
Kickers		
Motley Cues	Rob Howe	
Pains		
Serious Fouls		
Chickenbones	Joseph Morall, President	
Deep Pockets		
Concords	Sean Ledson	
Division 5		
Screamers		
Harlequins	Rebecca Billington	
Defenestrators	Simon Tadd	
Neil & Bob		
Gringos	Szymon Szukalski	
Tomtones		
Division 6		
GP's		
Misfits		
Hot Pockets	Brock Perry	
Islanders Inc.		
Budgie Smugglers		
Jack's	Danial Ward	
Balls Deep All Stars		

12 April 2010 2/2