

ACT Eight Ball Association

Captains' Meeting – 2 August 2010

Minutes

Open:

The regular meeting of ACTEBA was called to order at 7:07pm on 2 August 2010 at the Serbian Club, Mawson, by Matt Kendrick.

Present:

See attached attendance sheet.

A. Apologies

Joseph Morrall (President / Chickenbones) William Keogh (DV8s) Trent Billington (Chisholm Vikings)

B. Proxies

Nil

C. Minutes

Minutes from June were tabled.

Motion				
That the July minutes be accepted as tabled.				
Proposed: Ted Mallowes		Seconded: Warren Manglesdorf		
For: 28	Against: 0	Abstain: 1		
Motion Passed				

D. President (per Matt Kendrick)

The hotel that was originally booked for the Ladies Team, Princess Arcade Hotel, has rejected our request for a refund. We will pursue with SA Fair Trading as deposit was paid before terms were received.

A complaint was received following an incident on Wednesday 21st July.

Motion That the complaint be referred to a Disputes and Disciplinary Committee.				
Proposed: Matt Kendrick		Seconded: Greg Murphy		
For: 27	Against: 4		Abstain: 3	
Motion Passed				

DDC members

Div 1 Kylie Power, Scrol
Div 2 Catherine Rollinson
Div 3 Alison Murphy
Div 4 Joseph Stephens
Div 6 Shane Whiting

Nominations called for Open Team Manager

Bob Sifri (represented by Kenny Nicol) Matt Kendrick

Vote:

Bob 8 Matt 31

Committee required to appoint Open Team Captain – core executive + 2 representatives from Divs 1, 2 & 3.

Div 1 Scrol
Doug Percy
Div 2 Catherine Rollinson
Warren Manglesdorf
Div 3 Alison Murphy
Phil Hobday

2 August 2010 2/4

Remaining Open Singles positions for National Championships have been opened to top 32 Open players. Alessandro Nasca and Anthony Chia have accepted – 5 places still remaining.

AGM will be held on 6 September. Motions for changes to constitution must be received tonight

Motion received from Simon Tadd proposing changes to the format and makeup of monthly meetings.

Joseph is considering whether to nominate for a 2nd term as President.

E. Vice President

Attended AEBF meeting in Adelaide. Venue looks good.

F. Secretary

No report.

G. Treasurer

No report.

H. Tournament Director

Masters Singles and Ladies Doubles trials were held last weekend (31 July, 1 August)

Mongrel (5) defeated Vince (0) in the masters final.

Cindy and Nicole (5) defeated Kylie and Les (4) in a very tight Ladies Doubles final.

Open Doubles starts this weekend (7-8 August). There are 10 groups of 8 players. Top 3 from each group progress to round 2.

Doug: The Masters trials was a 3 round round-robin – the others played 4

rounds

Chris: That was a mistake and was not intended

Doug: it gives the appearance of discrimination

Chris: Agreed

2 August 2010 3/4

I. Assistant Tournament Director

Some teams will miss out on bonus points as they did not report their results.

Will be chasing captains for player details for players' registry.

Prefer SMS for results.

J. Junior Development Officer

No report

K. Head Umpire

No report

L. Head Coach

No report.

K. Fundraising / Publicity

Planning an ACTEBA stall at the Woden Valley Community Fair. Matt & Kath Harmen will donate their table for use in a showcase exhibition. May need Public Liability insurance

L. Webmaster

No report.

M. General Business

Warren Manglesdorf: Last season 2 players played on 4 frames. They do not

want a trophy

Alison Murphy: When are fees due?

Matt: next meeting (due late season start). No extensions - if not

paid, points will be lost.

Close:

The meeting was closed at 7:47pm.

2 August 2010 4/4



ACT Eight Ball Association

Captains' Meeting – 2 August 2010

Attendance Sheet

Team	Name	
Division 1		
Schroomptons	Scrol	
Snipers	Nicole Welsh	
Embalmers	John Pagden	
Hammerheads	Kenny Nicol	
Pidos	Kylie Power	
Cage Rattlers	Tony Fleming	
Stickmen	Matt Power, Assistant Tournament Director	
Matildas	Doug Percy	
Division 2		
Katz	Kaaron Keily	
	Catherine Rollinson, Fundraising / Publicity	
Scorpions	Kris Bandte	
DV8s		
Chisholm Tavern	Warren Manglesdorf	
Pirates	Matt Kendrick, Vice President / Webmaster	
Warriors	Ted Mallowes, Treasurer	
Cougars	Tolly Auva'a	
Division 3		
Crackpots	Alison Murphy	
	Greg Murphy, Secretary / Head Umpire	
Filthy Wanderers	Chris Jones, Tournament Director	
Demons	Jonathon Wilkins	
Pains		
Jets	Ben Boyd	
Chisholm Vikings	Allan Hebert	
Deep Pockets	Phil Hobday	

Division 4		
Serious Fouls	Joe Stephens	
Concords	Kieren Yandell	
Chickenbones	Belinda Frost	
Shoot to Thrill	Mike Stanker	
Defenestrators	Simon Tadd	
Gringos		
Buffalos		
Division 5		
Kickers	Tony Warren	
Motley Cues	Robbie Howe	
Budgie Smugglers	Shane Whiting	
Jacks	Danial Ward	
Screamers		
Hot Pockets	Brock Perry	
Harlequins	Rebecca Billington	
Division 6		
Balls Deep All Stars	Robbie Urbaniak	
Road Kill	Jennifer Everett	
GP's		
Neil & Bob		
Islanders Inc.	Margaret Auva'a	
Mooseheads 8	Long Dang	

2 August 2010 2/2