### **ACT EightBall Association**

State Executive Committee Meeting Meeting Minutes 7 July 2008

#### 1. Opening:

The regular meeting of the ACTEBA was called to order at 7:10 pm on 7 July 2008 in Serbian Club Mawson ACT by Doug Percy.

### 2. Apologies

James Southwell, Scrol, Dany Chirgwin, Mark Davey, Dave Cox, Ross Sands

## 3. Proxy:

Barry Floyd for Danny Chirgwin Brian Davey for Mark Davey

### 4. Minutes

Motion	That the minutes for the April and May meetings be accepted as tabled					
Proposed	Doug Percy					
Seconded	Ted Mallowes					
For	24	Against	0	Abstain	7	
Outcome	Motion	Passed				

### 5. Reports

## 5.1. President (Doug Percy)

- Team Managers
  - o Ladies Team Manager
    - 1 Nomination, Scrol
    - Accepted no objection
  - Open Team Manager
    - 2 Nominations
    - Colin Gamble
      - Keen, organized
      - Previous Experience at nationals
      - Liked by the team
      - No experience as team manager
      - Manager multiple businesses
    - Ted Mallowes
      - Team Captain for 16 years
      - Treasurer for 8 years
      - Organized
      - Understanding of the role
      - Managerial administrative role with major Sports Club
    - Both will attend nationals regardless of position
    - Neither has held manager role in past for state team
    - Matt H strongly supports Colin, CG relationship to the team major addition
    - Doug raises need for a Masters manager
      - TM interested
      - CG not interested in any other manager role than Open

Motion	That a manager position be created for the ACT Masters side, with the roles and benefits					
	currently in existence for the Open and Ladies manager, and that Ted Mallowes be					
	appointed to this position for 2008. The Open Manager to be Colin Gamble.					
Proposed	Dominic Stinziani					
Seconded	Brian Davey					
For	24	Against	10	Abstain	4	
Outcome	Motion	Passed				

- Team acceptances
  - o All 9 of Open team accepted
  - o Ladies 5 have paid, 1 has an extension 1 is outstanding on fees
- Team Captains
  - o Open Matt Harmon (c), Micheal Hazilias (vc)
  - o Ladies Nicole Welsh (c), Kath Harmon (vc)
- World Titles
  - Over 50s Australian Team are world champions
  - Open team top of round robin at this stage
  - o Steve Woods and Nicole Welsh progressing very well in singles titles

### 5.2. Vice President (Kath Harmon)

- DDC Members for July
  - o Phil Bush
  - o James Southwell
  - o Tony Jones
  - o Dave Cox
  - o Rob Howe

### 5.3. Treasurer (Ted Mallowes)

- State fees have been deposited
- 09 Nationals account is in good shape

### **5.4.** Tournament Director (Chris Jones)

- No results emailed technical issues
- Ladies/Master events went well
- Results for Wed night, reminder to submit early
- Reminder on the bonus points for scoresheet completion
- Accepting submission of forms and money for doubles tonight only

## 5.5. Assistant Tournament Director

Nothing to report

## 5.6. Secretary (Joseph Morrall)

Nothing to report

### 5.7. Fundraising

- Raffle
  - o Support from ACTEBA members required
  - o 180 books = \$4k profit to association
  - o each team to sell 4 books
  - Sponsorship of raffle prizes raised
    - Some members willing to sponsor, will follow up with Fundraising
- Another Melbourne Cup style event planned

### 5.8. Junior Development Officer

- Start of comp delayed due to school holidays
- Interview with radio completed, some interest generated

# 5.9. Umpire

Absent

### 5.10. Head Coach

No report

# 6. Agenda Items

**6.1.** None

### 7. Motions

None

### 8. General Business

- Warren Manglesdorf sought information on the outcome of DDC
  - o JM advised that outcome letters to be sent shortly, delay due to work commitments
- Colin Gamble queried the use of singles spots at nationals and the practice of ACTEBA to invite the top 32 **ranked** players to attend. Colin would prefer top 32 from **trials**.
  - o To be included for discussion at next meeting

# 9. Adjournment:

Meeting was adjourned at 8.30 by Doug Percy

### 10. Attendence

### Those highlighted not in attendance (or their representative)

Div	Team	Captain (Position)		
1	Matildas	Doug Percy (Pres)		
1	Stickmen	Colin Gamble Phil Bryan		
1	Snipers	Cindy Blackmore		
1	Schroomptons	Sid Scott		
1	Embalmers	Tuan Dong		
1	Hammerheads	Bob Sifri		
1	Warriors	Ted Mallowes (Treasurer)		
1	Emu	Phil Bush		
2	Runouts	Jason Scott		
2	Chisholm Tavern	Warren Mangelsdorf		
2	Scorpions	Mick Sewell		
2	Filthy Wanderers	Chris Jones (TD)		
2	Crackpots	Theresa Skipper Greg Murphy (Crackpots)		
2	Katz	Cath Jones (Fund) Kath Harmon (VP)		
2	To-Sheas	Trent Billington		
<mark>2</mark>	Dom's DV8s	Soorage Ahazidad		
3	Tomtones	Tony Johns		
3	Team Chickenbone	Joseph Morrall (Sect)		
3	Demons	Barry Floyd		
3	Pirates	Matt Kendrick		
3	Jagerbombers	Mike Stanker		
3	Jets	Daniel Ward		
3	Cougars	Tolly Auvaa		

3	Pumas	Brendan d'Aquino
4	Dubber Ruckies	Vera Sansum
4	Neil & Bob	Huw Jones
4	Harlequins	Jacinta Snajdar
4	Shooters	Brain Davey
4	Screamers	Melissa Chapelli
4	Kickers	Tony Warren
4	Pains Pains	David Cocks
5	Motley Cues	Rob Howe
5	Northside Legends	Barry Gazis
5	Gremlins	Paul Coleman
5	Gringos	Dom Stinziani
5	Deep Pockets	Robbie Urbs
<mark>5</mark>	Earls of Erindale	Ross Sands
5	Rail Runners	Nick Bodrozic